Widescreen Gaming Forum

[-noun] Web community dedicated to ensuring PC games run properly on your tablet, netbook, personal computer, HDTV and multi-monitor gaming rig.
It is currently 17 Dec 2024, 05:32

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: 16 Mar 2008, 00:36 
Offline

Joined: 15 Mar 2008, 19:53
Posts: 3
Hello,

although PoP3 is listed as widescreen capable, alas it is not. It's true that it supports 16:9 widescreen, but not a 16:10 aspect ratio which most computer monitors have. A modification similar to what UniWS does is not working, so I created my own widescreen fix:

:arrow: http://rapidshare.com/files/98216875/PoP_3_-_1280x800_widescreen_fix.exe.html

It works with the Reloaded NO-CD Version only and will enable a resolution of 1280x800 without aspect ratio distortion.

Have fun!

Regards, ZenJu


#########################################


For those interested in some technical details, here they are:

The resulution of PoP3 depends on two integer values in memory which are evaluated at the start of the game only:

width: address in memory [00a01ef4] + D0
height: address in memory [00a01ef4] + D4

Both values have no fixed location, but can be found via the pointers above.

What this patch does:
-----------------------------------------
Change default resolution here (Used if no DefaultProfile.DAT is available)
Code:
004165F0 - c7 81 d0 00 00 00 20 03 00 00 - mov [ecx+000000d0],00000320
   004165FA - c7 81 d4 00 00 00 58 02 00 00 - mov [ecx+000000d4],00000258



Disable 004173E7 and 004173F0 (NOP) (Resolution change if default resolution is invalid)

Code:
004173E7 - 89 8e d0 00 00 00          - mov [esi+000000d0],ecx
   004173ED - 8b 50 04                   - mov edx,[eax+04]
   004173F0 - 89 96 d4 00 00 00          - mov [esi+000000d4],edx



In case (and only in this case) DefaultProfile.DAT is available also the following code has
to be adapted (Resolution change):
Code:
004183CF - 8d 74 24 10                - lea esi,[esp+10]
   004183D3 - f3 a5                      - repe movsd      "EDI = [00a01ef4] + D0, ECX = 26 in the relevant case
   004183D5 - 8b cd                      - mov ecx,ebp

This is accomplished by code injection: Additional check: only if EDI eq [00a01ef4] + D0 changes should be made:
Dec ECX by 2 and inc ESI, EDI by 8. => width and height are not changed.


Top
 Profile  
 


PostPosted: 24 Mar 2008, 22:32 
Offline

Joined: 24 Mar 2008, 22:19
Posts: 1
Hi ZenJu,

Tyvm for your efforts :)

It patched successfully but the game no longer starts.
It flashes to fullscreen mode a couple of times, then dies with the error "Prince of Persia The Two Thrones has stopped working"

I'm running Vista 64bit Ultimate.
I want to get this running @ 1680x1050, could you make a patch for that?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 24 Mar 2008, 23:38 
Offline

Joined: 15 Mar 2008, 19:53
Posts: 3
Hi lenoblow,

I can't guarantee this modification will work for Vista as I have only tested it with Windows XP. Maybe it's just that your hardware setup does not support 1280x800. So here is the 1680x1050 version. Hopefully this will work for you.

http://rapidshare.com/files/102086355/PoP_3_-_1680x1050_widescreen_fix.exe.html

Regards, ZenJu


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 27 Mar 2008, 00:41 
Offline

Joined: 27 Mar 2008, 00:36
Posts: 1
Hi lenoblow,

I can't guarantee this modification will work for Vista as I have only tested it with Windows XP. Maybe it's just that your hardware setup does not support 1280x800. So here is the 1680x1050 version. Hopefully this will work for you.

http://rapidshare.com/files/102086355/PoP_3_-_1680x1050_widescreen_fix.exe.html

Regards, ZenJu


This successfully gets the game to run in 1680x1050, but I don't think it's a true patch. For one thing, the image looks a little bit stretched vertically. But, and this is the problem that will stop me from using it, you can't see some of your information at the top left of the screen relating to your weapon / health / sand tanks. I can't see how much my weapon has worn down, so I don't know when to throw it away.

I thank you for your effort, though. If you could just figure out a way to keep it from cutting off about half of the health/weapon/sands info at the top, it would be a successful patch indeed.

[edit] I just tried the 1280x800 patch, and unfortunately it does the same thing.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 10 Jan 2009, 14:33 
Offline

Joined: 02 Mar 2007, 01:01
Posts: 53
same here with 1680x1050


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  




Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group