Widescreen Gaming Forum

[-noun] Web community dedicated to ensuring PC games run properly on your tablet, netbook, personal computer, HDTV and multi-monitor gaming rig.
It is currently 03 Jul 2024, 11:17

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Water cooling..
PostPosted: 20 Mar 2006, 21:18 

I am interested in doing a water cooled upgrade when I buy my new case. I am looking into the Acrylic Clear ATX. I also figured since I was getting a new graphics card (again) I would go with water cooling.

Couple of questions, is it worth it? Has anybody had any accidents meaning any leaks?

Thanks

PostPosted: 20 Mar 2006, 21:51 

I have been running water cooling since about 2002 or 2003. As long as you build it correctly it is well worth it.

My processor stays far cooler with water cooling than with air cooling and overall my case is quieter (dual 7800gt's being the loudest part).

If you are looking for some very good insight into water cooling then check out http://www.ocforums.com

They have a huge board dedicated to water cooling with all kinds of reviews and results from different water cooling systems both pre-built and home made.

If you really want to go crazy, and can afford it, then check out the extreme cooling board. They have everything there from peltier cooling to phase change cooling which can get your processor temps down to -20°C.

Oh and in the 3+ years that I have been running water cooling I have only seen one incident with a friends computer where his water got on the back of his vid card while it was running. He was using de-ionized water which prevented anything bad from happening since de-ionized water has the lowest conductivity of any water (almost none if it's good quality).

Good luck if you decide to go with this form of cooling. Once you get to the point of trusting it completely it is a great method of cooling and will keep your gear in great shape for a long time.

PostPosted: 21 Mar 2006, 01:41