Widescreen Gaming Forum

[-noun] Web community dedicated to ensuring PC games run properly on your tablet, netbook, personal computer, HDTV and multi-monitor gaming rig.
It is currently 07 Jul 2024, 22:50

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: 90" Widescreen Gaming?
PostPosted: 26 Jul 2008, 03:27 

Hey guys. First off, I'd like to say I'm new to the forums. I've got some pretty good experience with computers but I'm pretty crappy at the whole multi-monitor thing. Mmmk, so to the point...

Wondering if it's possible to use three 30" monitors for gaming. Hoping to run games at a resolution of 5760x1200 (1920x1200)3. And the desktop and basic OS elements at 7680x1600. My original plan was to buy three GTX280's and separately connect them to each monitor.

ie...
GTX280 1 --> Monitor 1
GTX280 2 --> Monitor 2
GTX280 3 --> Monitor 3

So basically without SLI or anything. Will this work? Will it be possible to play games like this? Preferably at a decent framerate, 40+ without any AA.

Also, is it possible to configure games to run on specified monitors when you run em? Like, say if I want to play GRID, only have it run on the center monitor or something of the sort? Would I have to window it?

My system right now.........
Q6600
4GB DDR2 6400
Raptor X 150GB
WD Caviar 640GB
Samsung S203B Optical Drive
Dell 3007WFP-HC (hoping for 2 more)
eVGA 8800GTSSC in SLI (replacing w/ 3 GTX280's hopefully)
My motherbaord is a standard eVGA 780i

Thnx in advance guys.^^

PostPosted: 26 Jul 2008, 04:15 

Certian games would work like that, FSX is the best example.

Most games however will not. You would need SoftTH which imo is not very good.

PostPosted: 26 Jul 2008, 05:12 

Certian games would work like that, FSX is the best example.

Will games running in DX10 do it automatically?

PostPosted: 26 Jul 2008, 05:58 

[quote]Certian games would work like that, FSX is the best example.

Will games running in DX10 do it automatically?