Widescreen Gaming Forum

[-noun] Web community dedicated to ensuring PC games run properly on your tablet, netbook, personal computer, HDTV and multi-monitor gaming rig.
It is currently 07 Jul 2024, 07:19

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1252 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39 ... 126  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: 09 Aug 2012, 15:23 
Offline

Joined: 08 Jul 2010, 16:04
Posts: 64
Location: Coventry, UK
Sorry to be a pain, but I've been playing about with San Andreas, and discovered the launcher you were on about. It seems it's only shown if you've got more than one display adapter present, which I don't when running eyefinity (only when I have extended desktops). I've been looking, but I can't seem to find the bit of code that determines whether to show that launcher or not. Assuming you got the launcher yourself in a surround mode...maybe some difference with NV Surround and Eyefinity? Would really appreciate any ideas.

Edit: In the Steam version, gta-sa.exe+91D420 seems to hold a byte value of the number of display adapters detected. Found this at/around gta-sa.exe+380041, but I'm still hunting for the instruction that calls the launcher if this is >1.

Edit 2: Found it! You can use this code to force the launcher to show:

Code:
local LauncherFix = HackTool:AddCodeCave("LauncherFix",2)
   LauncherFix:SetAddress(0x3800B5)
   local Data = {0x90,0x90}
   for k,v in pairs(Data) do
      LauncherFix:SetByte(k-1,v)
      end      
   local Result = LauncherFix:GetAddress()+LauncherFix:GetBaseAddress()
   OldProtect = HackTool:MemProtect(Result,FWSBinds.SIZE_FLOAT,FWSBinds.PROTECT_EXECUTE_READWRITE);
   LauncherFix:WriteData(0,LauncherFix:GetLength())


I can tie it to a new checkbox and send you the updated script if you'd like?

_________________
"Personally, I see it as a virtue - trying to make the world a slightly better place _without_ trying to impose your moral values on other people. You do whatever the h*ll rings your bell, I'm just an engineer who wants to make the best OS possible." - Linus Torvalds


Top
 Profile  
 


 Post subject: Hello,I recently started
PostPosted: 11 Aug 2012, 00:15 
Offline

Joined: 11 Aug 2012, 00:05
Posts: 2
Hello,

I recently started playing Warlock: Master of the Arcane, but with three monitors the menus and game is zoomed in very close, making it unplayable. I was wondering if someone could find a solution for this?

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 11 Aug 2012, 20:37 
Offline

Joined: 11 Aug 2012, 20:35
Posts: 1
I too have been encountering the same Borderlands crash. Frustrating!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Manual Override Settings
PostPosted: 13 Aug 2012, 04:49 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 20 Oct 2010, 01:14
Posts: 15
FWS has always had issues for my setup, (always came up as (1x1) and as a result was using Widescreen Fixer until I recently decided to give it another look.
I'm using Catalyst 12.6 with two 5870's in Crossfire, rest of my hardware is below.
I have also included a screenshot of what I get if I don't override the display correction.

Overriding seems to work, but it has a side issue where my cross hair and HUD are not centered, trying to play with that now to see if I can resolve.

This tool has come a long way though, thank you very much for your hard work, was thinking of doing a full write up on it for a future issue of Maximum PC if I can get it working right.http://www.maximumpc.com/user/justinkerr_0

Hardware

- Gigabyte Z68 GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
- Intel Core i7 2600k Processor Overclocked To 4.5Ghz
- Cooler Master Hyper 212 CPU Fan
- 8 GB Patriot Tripple Channel DDR3
- Two Sapphire Radeon HD 5870's in Crossfire
- Creative Labs Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer PCI Sound Card
- OCZ Agility 3 120 & 64GB SSD
- Three Dell Ultrasharp 24" LCD's in Eyefinity (5760 x 1200)
- Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit



UPDATE: Turning off Bezel correction and changing the manually detected resolution fixed the issue of my HUD being off center.



Hi there,

I have seen a few people talking about issues when using the manual override display dedection, whereby the fov fix works, but the hud is not correctly centered.

This issue is caused by people not entering settings correctly when using bezel correction and manual override

In the override detection settings section there are "HUD X:" and "HUD Y:" values. The HUD X value is the one of importance.

Now, for example if you are using 3x1920x1080 (5760x1080) with NO bezel correction, then the correct values are "HUD X:1920" and "HUD Y:0"
This is becuase you want to move the HUD 1920 pixels to the right, hence no problem without bezel correction.

Now, theorise you have bezel correction with 3x1920x1080 monitors and your resolution is 6000x1080.
When this situation happens most people seem to be leaving "HUD X:1920". This is incorrect causes the hud to be slightly to the left.

To calcuate what the HUD X value should be for your bezel corrected resoultion you need to do the following:

[ X value (with bezel) - X value (no Bezel) ] /2 = Y

Y+X value (of one screen)= HUD X

So, using the example of 6000x1080 with 3x1920x1080 screens, it would be as follows:

(6000-5760)/2 = 120

120+1920= 2040

So changing the HUD X value from 1920 to 2040 for the bezel corrected resolution of 6000x1080 will move the HUD 2040 pixels to the right, correctly centering the HUD, and fixing any issues.


TL;DR When using bezel correction on Manual override settings, Hud X value needs to be adjusted


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 13 Aug 2012, 20:14 
Offline

Joined: 14 Jul 2010, 14:48
Posts: 28
Hayden do you have a fix for the huge weapon on Blacklight Retribution. The fix works great for everything but the Weapon FOV. The image that you show in the Blacklight Retribution thread isn't what i get while using your fix. The FOV is fixed but the weapon FOV is crazy bad.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 13 Aug 2012, 21:42 
Offline

Joined: 01 Jun 2010, 20:06
Posts: 15
Hi all.

I'm having a problem with the program. It won't open! When i double click it - nothing happens, it will end up in my processes tab but the GUI is nowhere. It's not even listed on the desktop bar.

Any ideas? I have tried re-installing it many times now, aswell as re-installing visual C++

EDIT : I'm running Win7 64bit

EDIT : The program lists under the processes tab, but only for a few seconds before it closes itself down. No error messages are given.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 20 Aug 2012, 02:36 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 03 Apr 2011, 23:04
Posts: 36
Hey Hayden,
Fellow WideScreeners,
Is Mass Effect 3 currently working with Flawless Widescreen? I can't seem to get it going. Game crashes almost immediately.

_________________
[email protected] w/ Hyper 212+ | GA P67A-UD7-B3 | EVGA GTX 580SC SLI | G.Skill Ripjaws 2x4GB | Corsair P3 128GB SSD | WD 1T Caviar Black | Corsair 1200AX PSU | HAF 932 | Asus VG236HEx2 & Asus VG236H


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: AMD or NVIDIA?
PostPosted: 20 Aug 2012, 03:16 
Offline
Insiders
Insiders
User avatar

Joined: 14 Feb 2010, 13:39
Posts: 761
AMD or NVIDIA?

I know it has some issues on AMD - but on NVIDIA hardware, last I checked, the result was pretty much perfect.

_________________
Resident Jester - Flawless Widescreen - Widescreen gaming the way it should be.
[Steam Profile]

Want to keep Flawless Widescreen alive? Donate Here


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 20 Aug 2012, 16:14 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 03 Apr 2011, 23:04
Posts: 36
Nvidia. Bezel compensated. 5820x1080.

_________________
[email protected] w/ Hyper 212+ | GA P67A-UD7-B3 | EVGA GTX 580SC SLI | G.Skill Ripjaws 2x4GB | Corsair P3 128GB SSD | WD 1T Caviar Black | Corsair 1200AX PSU | HAF 932 | Asus VG236HEx2 & Asus VG236H


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 21 Aug 2012, 22:23 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 03 Apr 2011, 23:04
Posts: 36
Suggestions? Anyone with a Nvidia setup running Mass Effect 3 with FlawlessWidescreen?

_________________
[email protected] w/ Hyper 212+ | GA P67A-UD7-B3 | EVGA GTX 580SC SLI | G.Skill Ripjaws 2x4GB | Corsair P3 128GB SSD | WD 1T Caviar Black | Corsair 1200AX PSU | HAF 932 | Asus VG236HEx2 & Asus VG236H


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1252 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39 ... 126  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  




Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group